news  articles  all
rus на русском ქართულად
Sunday, 24 June 2018


Today - 20 years after the collapse of the Soviet Union

2011-12-21 16:17

December 21, exactly 20 years have passed since the collapse of the USSR and the establishment of the Commonwealth of Independent States. As the GHN recalls, December 8, 1991 at the residence of the Belarusian government in Viskuli near Brest (Belarus) President of the RSFSR Boris Yeltsin, Ukrainian President Leonid Kravchuk and chairman of the Supreme Council of the Republic of Belarus Stanislav Shushkevich signed an agreement on the collapse of the USSR and the establishment of the Commonwealth of Independent States.

Later, December 21 of that year, in Alma-Ata, the heads of 11 sovereign states signed a protocol to the agreement. According to the document, such former Soviet republics as Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Ukraine agreed to form a new structure - the Commonwealth of Independent States- on an equal basis.

December 1993, Georgia joined the CIS. Of the former Soviet republics only the Baltic states - Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia - didn't join the CIS.

The Commonwealth includes more than 60 interstate (intergovernmental) coordination and advisory bodies, the main ones are: the Council of Heads of State, the Council of Heads of Government, the Council of Foreign Ministers, the Council of Defense Ministers, the Economic Court, the Interstate Bank, the Inter-Parliamentary Assembly, the Executive Committee.

In addition, different political and economic union operate within the Commonwealth: Union State of Russia and Belarus, the Eurasian Economic Community, CAPS and GUUAM.

In 2008, after the August war with Russia Georgia decided to withdraw from the CIS.

Code for blog
Add: Magnolia Livejournal Reddit Google
Permanent link :
Rambler's Top100
Select spelling error with mouse and press Ctrl+Enters
Система Orphus